Rules AnswerPublished on 29th June 2017 in Uncategorized
A player, believing his tee shot might be lost or out of bounds, plays a provisional ball. His provisional ball is struck in the same direction as the original ball and, without any announcement, he plays another ball from the tee. This ball comes to rest on the fairway. What is the ruling?
If the original ball is not lost or out of bounds, the player must continue play with that ball without penalty.
If the original ball is lost or out of bounds, the player must continue play with the third ball played from the tee as, when this ball was played without any announcement, it rendered the provisional ball lost, regardless of the provisional ball’s location. The player would lie 5 with the third ball played from the tee.
In both situations, the third ball bears a relationship only to the previous ball played, i.e., the provisional ball.