Club Champions & Major Events Winners for 2020

Published on 7th February 2021 in Golf News, Local and Member News, Local News, Members News

On Saturday 6th February, signifying that Victoria has moved well past the world of lockdown endured by all for most of last year, the club held its annual Presentation Function.

This year, however, the awards were made over lunch rather than the usual dinner, to a group of almost fifty Members including their partners, a change in format that did nothing to diminish the usual excitement and humour that normally attends this prize giving event.

Again, as if to signify that our club can operate as well as ever, the lunch provided was a credit to our chef and staff, and our thanks must go to them for the smooth way in which the whole day proceeded.

The Club Captain, Dean Burrows, officiated for most of the day, presenting awards to our club champions and event winner’s throughout the year.

Throughout the trials of Covid-19, the Golf Committee have been hard at work to ensure that as much of the annual syllabus as possible went ahead, and in the end we all competed for a substantial number of our annual events.

Our Club President, Jeff Smith, took the podium to announce two new 50-year members, Dennis Garlick and Rob Bond. Rob, unfortunately, was unable to attend on the day, but we were treated to many humorous anecdotes by Dennis, from his long association with the club and his friendship with other notable members.

Congratulations to all those who competed in the events of 2020, along with those who won the events. We also acknowledge the individual achievements of our Club Champions Rob Curic and Sue Cutten, along with the winners of the B Grade Championships (Ian Cochrane and Soontharee Wongsaenchai), and C Grade (Laird Gordon and Jo Docker).

Great scoring and well-deserved to all!

← Back to previous page